Keynote Speakers

We are very happy to announce our 4 internationally acclaimed keynote speakers!


Sir Harold Marshall

Marshall_PicA. Harold Marshall is an architect, engineer and physicist who is recognised internationally for his contribution to concert hall design. Formerly Professor of Architecture at the University of Auckland and Head of the Acoustics Research Centre, Dr Marshall has over 45 years experience in the acoustical design of auditoria and concert halls. His work is widely cited in technical literature. Over the years his interest in these fields has been sharpened by his active involvement in musical performance as a bass-baritone.

Harold's present task in Marshall Day Acoustics is Group Consultant, leading the conceptual design of concert halls and similar commissions as required by any of the practice offices. This is a role for which his architectural and musical skills have uniquely equipped him to communicate with architects and their clients.

In 1994 Harold was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of New Zealand. He also holds Fellowships in the Acoustical Society of America, the New Zealand Institute of Architects and the Royal Australian Institute of Architects.

In 1995 Dr Marshall was awarded the Wallace Clement Sabine Medal by the Acoustical Society of America for his contributions to the field of architectural acoustics, particularly for the understanding and design of concert halls, and in 2006 he received the Gold Medal of the Acoustical Foundation of India.

In 2008, Emeritus Professor Marshall was made a Distinguished Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit for services to acoustical science and in 2009 he accepted the title Knight Companion of the Order, KNZM.

 

Professor Michael Vorländer

Vorlander_PicMichael Vorländer is Professor at RWTH Aachen University, Germany. After university education in physics and a doctoral degree (Aachen 1989), with a thesis on room acoustics computer simulation, he worked in various fields of acoustics at the PTB, the National Laboratory for Physics and Technology, in Braunschweig.

His initial research activities were focused on psychoacoustics, electroacoustics and room and building acoustics. In 1995 he finished the qualification as university lecturer (habilitation, Technical University of Dresden) with a thesis on reciprocity calibration of microphones. Since 1996 he is Professor and Director of the Institute of Technical Acoustics at RWTH Aachen University. Michael Vorländer is active in several organizations such as DEGA (German Acoustical Society), EAA (European Acoustics Association) and ASA (Acoustical Society of America).

He was President of the EAA for the term 2004 – 2007 and now serves as President of the International Commission for Acoustics, ICA, for the term 2011-2013. He was awarded the Stephens Medal of the Institute of Acoustics, IOA, United Kingdom in 2005, Fellow of the Acoustical Society of America in 2006, and the Caracola of the Acoustical Society of Spain in 2009. His current research interest is auralization and acoustic virtual reality in various applications in architectural acoustics and environmental noise.

 

Dr. Tapio Lokki

LokkiBorn in Helsinki, Finland in 1971, Dr. Tapio Lokki has studied acoustics, audio signal processing, and computer science at the Helsinki University of Technology (TKK) and received an M.Sc. degree in electrical engineering in 1997 and a D.Sc. (Tech.) degree in computer science and engineering in 2002.

At present Dr. Lokki is an Associate Professor (tenured) with the Department of Media Technology at Aalto University. Dr. Lokki leads the virtual acoustics team jointly with Prof. Lauri Savioja. The team currently consists of 6 post-docs, 5 PhD students, and 2 MSc students, and their research aims to create novel objective and subjective ways to evaluate concert hall acoustics. In addition, the team develops physically-based room acoustics modeling methods to obtain authentic auralizations of performance spaces. The team also studies augmented reality audio and eyes-free user interfaces. They are funded by the Academy of Finland and by Dr. Lokki's Starting Grant from the European Research Council (ERC).

Dr. Lokki has published over 30 journal articles and almost 100 conference papers. He is a member of the editorial board of Acta Acustica united with Acustica. Dr. Lokki is a member of the Audio Engineering Society, the IEEE Computer Society, and Siggraph, Helsinki, Finland. In addition, he is currently the President of the Acoustical Society of Finland.


 Dr. Eckhard Kahle

Khale_PIcEckhard Kahle was born in Karlsruhe. After receiving a Vordiplom at the University of Bonn, an M Phil in physics at Clare College, Cambridge, and a physics degree, with a major in acoustics, at the University RWTH Aachen, he joined the room acoustics group at IRCAM in Paris. His work on a model of acoustical quality in concert halls, opera houses, and recital halls, was tested in several European facilities.

In addition to his extensive research in acoustics, Eckhard Kahle pursued a parallel career as a professional viola player in the European Community Youth Orchestra, holding the position of principal viola at the time of his departure. He performed with such outstanding musicians as Claudio Abbado, Zubin Mehta, Radu Lupu, and Leonard Bernstein, and also played in the Chamber Orchestra of Europe and the Ensemble Baroque de Limoges.

In 1995, Dr. Kahle joined Artec Consultants Inc, making important contributions to a number of projects, including: Culture and Congress Center (KKL), Lucerne; Salle du Métropole, Lausanne; Auditorium de Dijon; SangNam Hall, LG Arts Center, Seoul; Flemish Theatre (KVS), Maison de la Radio, and Théâtre Royal de la Monnaie, Brussels.

In 2001, he founded, Kahle Acoustics in Brussels. Clients of the firm have included: Guthrie Theatre, Minneapolis (Jean Nouvel, architect); Pierpont Morgan Library, New York (Renzo Piano, architect), The Curve Theatre and Performing Arts Centre, Leicester, (Rafael Viñoly, architect); Victoria Hall, Geneva; Singapore Conservatory of Music; the City of Perpignan, new theatre (Jean Nouvel, architect); the city of Stavanger, a new concert hall, and the city of Jinan, China, a new Performing Arts Center with an opera house and a concert hall (Paul Andreu, architect). He is also client acoustician for the future Philharmonie de Paris concert hall.

Since 1988, Eckhard Kahle has published a large number of scientific articles in journals and congress proceedings. He is regularly invited to give lectures and Masterclasses, and is Professor at the National Music Conservatory in Karlsruhe.

Les Orateurs Principaux

Nous sommes très heureux d'annoncer nos 4 orateurs de renommée internationale!


Sir Harold Marshall

Marshall_PicA. Harold Marshall est un architecte, ingénieur et physicien qui est reconnu internationalement pour sa contribution à la conception des salles de concert. Anciennement professeur d'architecture à l'Université d'Auckland et chef du centre de recherche acoustique, Dr Marshall a plus de 45 ans d'expérience dans la conception acoustique des salles de spectacle et de concert. Son travail est largement cité dans la littérature technique. Au fil des ans, son intérêt dans ces domaines a été aiguisé par son implication active dans la performance musicale en tant que baryton-basse.

La tâche actuelle de Harold à Marshall Day Acoustics est de conseiller des groupes, dans la conception des salles de concert et des commissions similaires à celles exigées par l'un des bureaux de Marshall Day Acoustics. Il s'agit d'un rôle pour lequel ses compétences architecturales et musicales lui ont exceptionnellement bien équipé afin de communiquer avec les architectes et leurs clients.

En 1994, Harold a été élu membre associé du Royal Society of New Zealand. Il est aussi membre associé de l'Acoustical Society of America, du New Zealand Institute of Architects et du Royal Australian Institute of Architects.

En 1995, Dr Marshall a reçu la médaille Wallace Clement Sabine de l’Acoustical Society of America pour ses contributions dans le domaine de l'acoustique architecturale, en particulier pour la compréhension et la conception des salles de concert, et en 2006 il a reçu la médaille d'or de la Fondation de l'acoustique de l'Inde.

En 2008, professeur émérite Marshall a été nommé Distinguished Companion of The New Zealand Order of Merit pour services rendus à la science acoustique et en 2009 il a accepté le titre de Knight Companion of the Order, KNZM.

 

Professor Michael Vorländer

Vorlander_PicMichael Vorländer est un professeur à l'université RWTH Aachen, en Allemagne. Après des études universitaires en physique et un doctorat (Aachen 1989, avec une thèse sur la simulation de l’acoustique des salles), il a travaillé dans divers domaines de l'acoustique à la PTB, le Laboratoire national de physique et de la technologie, à Braunschweig. 

Ses premières activités de recherche ont porté sur la psychoacoustique, l'électroacoustique et l’acoustique des salles et du bâtiment. En 1995, il a terminé la qualification en tant que professeur d'université (habilitation, Université technique de Dresde) avec une thèse sur la réciprocité de l'étalonnage des microphones. En 1996, il est devenu Professeur et Directeur de l'Institut d'Acoustique techniques à l'université RWTH Aachen.

Michael Vorländer est actif dans plusieurs organisations telles que DEGA (Association allemand de l’acoustique), EAA (Association Européan de l’Acoustique) et ASA (Acoustical Society of America). Il a reçu la Médaille Stephens de l'Institute de l’acoustique, IOA, du Royaume-Uni en 2005, Membre associé de l'Acoustical Society of America en 2006, et la Caracola de l’Institut espagnol de l'acoustique en 2009. Son intérêt pour la recherche actuelle est l’auralization et l'acoustique de réalité virtuelle dans diverses applications en acoustique architecturale et le bruit de l'environnement.

 

Dr. Tapio Lokki

Lokki_PicNé à Helsinki, Finlande en 1971,  Dr Tapio Lokki a étudié l'acoustique, le traitement du signal audio, et  l'informatique à l'Université de technologie d'Helsinki (TKK) et il a reçu une maîtrise ès sciences en génie électrique en 1997 et un doctorat en sciences (Tech.) en informatique et en génie en 2002.

Maintenant, Dr Lokki est un professeur agrégé (permanent) avec le ministère de la Technologie des Médias à l'Université d'Aalto. Dr Lokki dirige l'équipe acoustique virtuelle conjointement avec le professeur Lauri Savioja. L'équipe se compose actuellement de 6 post-doctorants, 5 étudiants au doctorat, et 2 étudiants à la maîtrise. Leur recherche vise à créer de nouvelles façons (objectifs et subjectifs) afin d’évaluer l'acoustique des salles de concert. En plus, l'équipe développe des méthodes de modélisation physique pour obtenir l’auralizations authentiques des salles de concert. L'équipe étudie également l’audio de la réalité augmentée et les interfaces d’utilisateur sans-yeux. Ils sont financés par l'Académie de Finlande et par des subventions de démarrage Dr Lokki du European Research Council (ERC).

Dr Lokki a publié plus de 30 articles de revue et de près de 100 documents conférenciers. Il est membre du comité de rédaction de Acta Acustica-Unis avec Acustica. Dr Lokki est un membre de l'Audio Engineering Society, l'IEEE Computer Society, et Siggraph, Helsinki, en Finlande. Il est aussi le président de la Société Acoustique de la Finlande.

 

 Dr. Eckhard Kahle

Khale_PIcEckhard Kahle est né à Karlsruhe. Après avoir reçu un Vordiplom à l'Université de Bonn, un M Phil en physique à Clare College, Cambridge, et un diplôme en physique, avec une majeure en acoustique à l'Université RWTH Aachen, il a rejoint le groupe acoustique des salles à l'Ircam à Paris. Son travail porte sur un modèle de qualité acoustique dans les salles de concert, les opéras et les salles de récital, a été testée dans plusieurs établissements européens.

En plus de ses recherches approfondies en acoustique, Eckhard Kahle a poursuivi une carrière parallèle en tant que joueur professionnel de l'alto dans l'Orchestre des Jeunes Communauté européenne, et il a occupé le poste d'alto principal au moment de son départ. Il a joué avec des musiciens exceptionnels comme Claudio Abbado, Zubin Mehta, Radu Lupu, et Leonard Bernstein, et a également joué dans l'Orchestre de Chambre de l'Europe et l'Ensemble Baroque de Limoges.

En 1995, le Dr Kahle a rejoint Artec Consultants Inc, apportent d'importantes contributions à un certain nombre de projets, y compris: le Centre de culture et congrès (KKL), Lucerne; la Salle du Métropole, Lausanne; l’Auditorium de Dijon; Sangnam hall, le LG Arts Center, Séoul; le Théâtre flamand (KVS), la Maison de la Radio, et le Théâtre royal de la Monnaie, à Bruxelles.

En 2001, il a fondé, Kahle Acoustics à Bruxelles. Les clients de l'entreprise ont inclus: le Guthrie Theatre de Minneapolis (Jean Nouvel, architecte); le Pierpont Morgan Library, New York (Renzo Piano, architecte), le Théâtre de la courbe et le centre des arts du spectacle, Leicester, (Rafael Viñoly, architecte); le Victoria Hall , Genève, le Singapour Conservatoire de la musique; la ville de Perpignan, le nouveau théâtre (Jean Nouvel, architecte); la ville de Stavanger, la nouvelle salle de concert, et la ville de Jinan, en Chine, un nouveau centre des arts du spectacle avec un opéra et salle de concert (Paul Andreu, architecte). Il est également un client acoustique pour l'avenir de la salle de concert Philharmonie de Paris.

Depuis 1988, Eckhard Kahle a publié un grand nombre d'articles scientifiques dans des revues et actes du congrès. Il est régulièrement invité à donner des conférences et des cours de maîtres, et il est professeur au Conservatoire national de musique de Karlsruhe.